Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire

17213039Girl, you have got some nerve! 

I’ve never been one of those people to highlight into oblivion while reading, but girl, did I regret not highlighting the fuck out of Beautiful Disaster! Let me point out that I read it a couple of months ago and only read it once. Apart from the memory of reading a book walking the thin line between something I am indifferent to and something I hate, there is nothing else about this book that lingers in my mind. So, imagine my frustration when I start reading Walking Disaster and catch myself experiencing some weird-ass déjà vus on every page. I blink in confusion for a while until I realize that my subconscious is aware that I have actually read this before. I know, I know, you’ll say it’s the same story and it’s normal, but this is not the kind of déjà vu I’m talking about.

Anyways, I quickly thank God for all the technology stuff I own and load both books on two different devices and there it is: The ultimate proof that Jamie McGuire did nothing but copy and paste. Girl, you have got some serious nerve doing this and calling it a new book. It’s fine by me, I’m not even going to finish this lazy-ass book-wannabe. But think about all the people who actually liked Beautiful Disaster and became your fans. I will shed a tear for these people.

I refuse to accept that someone has slightly changed a story they’ve already published and are now selling this shit as a separate book. Oh, I’m sorry, I didn’t mean to say story because we all already know that the author did not push even a couple of thousand of her brain cells into creative thinking. I actually have a sweet small example here:

Beautiful Disaster:

“We did the dishes together in silence, with Toto asleep at our feet. He dried the last dish and set it in the rack and then led me down the hall, holding my hand a bit too tight.”

Walking Disaster:

“We did the dishes together in silence, with Toto asleep at our feet. I dried the last dish and set it in the rack, and then reached down for her hand to lead her down the hall.”

Bitch, I already read that, do I look stupid? Don’t you think I know they did the dishes together with Toto at their feet? It was supposed to be different from Travis’ point of view; people are different, they are impressed by different things and observe things around them differently. Like I said, I don’t have a kind of highlight madness or something, but believe me when I say there are a lot of examples like that. Actually, the whole Walking Disaster is a sum of slightly re-written Beautiful Disaster text. This I call milking at its finest and don’t and will not tolerate. I am so pissed I spent several from my precious hours on this planet to read this, I am going to eternally hate myself for my stupid issue with series.

The verdict:

Twinkle+Twinkle+Little+Star+Littlestarsstar

goodreads (1)

One thought on “Walking Disaster by Jamie McGuire

Leave a Reply

